General information


Details of General information

General Information

The Republic of Kenya is located on the equator in Eastern Africa, bordering the Indian Ocean, Tanzania, Uganda, South Sudan, Ethiopia and Somalia. Kenya is 580, 367 square kilometres with a population of 47 million.  The capital, Nairobi, is also Kenya’s most populated city.

Kenya Guide

Like Tanzania, Kenya is an ethnically diverse country comprised of people from many tribes and ethnic groups. The Kikuyu make up 22% of the population, the Luhya 14%, Luo 13%, Kalenjin 12%, Kamba 11%, Kisii 6%, Meru 6%, other African 15%, and non-African 1%.

The main religion in Kenya is Christianity, which is practiced by 83% of the population. Islam is adhered to by approximately 11% of the population. The remainder practice other faiths or have no religion.

The two official languages of Kenya are Swahili and English. Compared with Tanzania, the majority of Kenyan’s are fluent in both Swahili and English. Business is usually conducted in English. Regional languages are also commonly spoken.

Nairobi Kenya