General information


Details of General information

The Republic of Uganda is located in East Africa's Great Lakes region. It is bordered by Kenya in the east, South Sudan in the north, the Democratic Republic of the Congo in the west, Rwanda in the southwest, and Tanzania in the south. It has an area of 241,038 square kilometres

A former British territory, Uganda gained its independence in 1962 and became a republic in 1963. Despite this, Uganda remains a member of the Commonwealth to this day. A country with a tumultuous past, Uganda is today emerging as one of East Africa’s thriving new tourism destinations.

Zimbabwe established on April 18, 1980, has been called many thenings; right now it has the name, “A World of Wonders”! Many may be skeptical about coming to visit and explore, but as a local and a fellow traveller, let me assure that it is safe and this unique destination will blow away your mind.

Zimbabwe is a landlocked country located between the Limpopo and Zambezi rivers. It shares it borders with 5 countries – Botswana, Namibia, Zambia, Mozambique and South Africa.

The name Zimbabwe originates from the famous Great Zimbabwe Ruins. Zimbabwe means, “ House of Stone”. These ruins are the largest Sub-Saharan Africa and second to the Pyramids in Eygpt.

Zimbabwe is known for several things – Victoria Falls, Lake Kariba, vast mineral reserves, agriculture and bountiful wildlife. The current president President Robert Gabrielle Mugabe has been president since independence and is the oldest head of state in the world.

Republic of Rwanda is surrounded by the DRC, Uganda, Tanzania, and Burundi. Rwanda is a very mountainous country within an area of 26,338 square kilometres. Rwanda’s population is estimated to be 11.7 million people and the capital and most populated city is Kigali.

According to the 2002 census, the main religion in Rwanda is Roman Catholic (56%), followed by Protestant (26%), Seventh-day Adventist (11.1%), and Muslim (4.6%).  1.7% claim no religion and 0.1 practice traditional beliefs.

Rwanda has two official languages, French and English, an one national language, Kinyarwanda, which is almost the mother tongue for the majority of the population.

General information